Press Center RSS

Four-Time Emmy® Award winner Wanda Sykes to Host The Women’s Media Center 2011 Women’s Media Awards

October 20, 2011

Women’s Media Center Awards Honorees are CNN Anchor & Special Correspondent Soledad O’Brien; CBS News Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent & 60 Minutes Correspondent Lara Logan; CEO of Frontier Communications Maggie Wilderotter; Yanique Richards of The Howard University Association of Black Journalists, and the 2011 Women’s Media Center Social Media Award honoree who will be announced at the event – 27 distinguished journalists, bloggers, and tweeters are award nominees.

Women’s Media Center Founders Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan & Gloria Steinem will attend the Awards

New York, New York - The Women’s Media Center will host The 2011 Women’s Media Awards on Wednesday evening, November 30, 2011 at Tribeca 360 in New York City. Four-time Emmy® Award winning comedian Wanda Sykes will host the Awards which recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to advancing women’s and girls’ visibility and power in media.

The 2011 Women’s Media Awards will honor:

  • Soledad O’Brien, CNN Anchor & Special Correspondent, will receive the Broadcast Journalism Award.
  • Lara Logan, CBS News Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent & 60 Minutes Correspondent, will receive the Whole Truth Award.
  • Maggie Wilderotter, CEO of Frontier Communications, will receive the Business Media Award.
  • Yanique Richards, Howard University Association of Black Journalists, will receive the Carol Jenkins Young Journalists Award.
  • One of 27 distinguished journalists, bloggers, and tweeters will receive the 2011 Women’s Media Center Social Media Award.  Online voting for the nominees is open to the public until November 15 at

The Women’s Media Center exists to change the status of women in media.  Because 51 percent of our population is women and only 3% of all clout positions in media are held by women, the Women’s Media Center Awards were created to honor champions for women who use their media platforms to tell the stories, facts, and solutions crucial to all viewers and to advance opportunities for women in media,” said Julie Burton, President of the Women’s Media Center.

Burton continued, “Because media tells our stories and influences the role of women in every part of society, we are proud to honor these amazing women who set the standard for what media should look like when it gives voice to the female half of the country.” 

“We honor Soledad O’Brien for her thought-provoking, timely, and inspirational coverage and documentaries that have created meaningful dialogues on crucial race, LGBT, and social equality issues.” 

“We honor Lara Logan for her courageous reporting about her attack in Tahrir Square, that has broken the code of silence surrounding sexual assaults on female journalists.  The breadth and depth of her actions – and the women who saved her – will help other women speak in defense of themselves and their human rights.”

“We honor Maggie Wilderotter  for breaking the glass ceiling as one of the 3 percent of women in media with clout.  Her tremendous success – and Frontier Communications’ success under her leadership – has raised the standard of excellence in media by ensuring the involvement of women in positions of power and decision-making.”

“We honor Yanique Richards, of Howard University’s Association of Black Journalists, WHBC News Team, and writer of The Hill Top, with the first annual Carol Jenkins Young Journalist Award for her writing and activism on behalf of girls and young women.  When we look at Yanique, we see a tenacious, determined journalist who we believe will make a difference for years to come.”

“We honor one of 27 nominated distinguished journalists, bloggers, and tweeters who will receive the 2011 Women’s Media Center Social Media Award.  These nominees are on the cutting edge of social media, extraordinarily talented, and we are proud to celebrate them and their work that amplifies women’s voices and concerns.”

The Women’s Media Center Social Media Award Nominees Include:
Faye Anderson (Anderson@large)
Joanne Bamberger (
Irin Carmon (
Lena Chen ( Cheryl Contee (
Sady Doyle ( Kimberly Ellis (
Mona Eltahawy (
Fatemeh Fakhraie (
Tavi Geninson (
Steph Herold (
Shelby Knox (
Arielle Loren (
Amanda Marcotte (
Shireen Mitchell (
Jennifer Nedeau (
Miriam Zoila Perez (
Latoya Peterson (
Sofia Quintero (
Liza Sabater (
Anita Sarkeesian (
Melissa Silverstein (
Lisa Stone (
Jos Truitt (
Kamy Wicoff (
Deanna Zandt (
Julie Zellinger (

The Women’s Media Awards are co-chaired by Loreen Arbus, Jewelle Bickford, Donna Deitch, Barbara Dobkin, Lauren Embrey, Jodie Evans, Jane Fonda, Victoria Jackson, Carol Jenkins, Sheryl Sandberg, Bonnie Schaefer, Marla Schaefer, Lekha Singh, and Gloria Steinem.

The Honorary Committee for The Women’s Media Awards:

Paul Adelstein, Shohreh Aghdashloo. Christiane Amanpour, Neal Baer, Amy Brenneman, Julie Christie, Tim Daly, Abigail E. Disney, Eve Ensler, Bonnie Erbe, Gail Evans, Jeremy Irons, Barbara Kopple, Christine Lahti, Jane Lynch, Irshad Manji, Cynthia McFadden, Renee Montagne, Sheila Nevins, Anna Quindlen, B. Ruby Rich, Cecile Richards, Marlene Sanders, Nell Scovell, Anna Deavere Smith, Lesley Stahl, Pam Spaulding, Marlo Thomas, Lily Tomlin, Rebecca Traister & Katrina vanden Heuvel

The Benefit Committee for The Women’s Media Awards:

Cristina L. Azocar, Patti Chang, Anne E. Delaney, Gloria Feldt, Amy Ferris, Judy Gold, Louise Gund, Francine LeFrak, Teresa McBride, Pat Mitchell, Robin Morgan, Elizabeth Sackler, Lois Sasson & Lesley Gore, Regina Kulik Scully, Deanna Zandt & Helen Zia

Sponsors for The Women’s Media Awards are:

Media Mavens: Banky-Larocque Foundation, Lekha Singh, Rowland & Sylvia Schaefer Family Foundation
Media Marvels: Alcatel-Lucent, Loreen Arbus, Sheryl Sandberg & Dave Goldberg, Victoria Jackson
Media Mentors: ADTRAN Inc., Anixter International Inc., Dish Network / Echostar, Disney & ESPN Media Networks, Dobkin Family Foundation, Jodie Evans, Fujitsu, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP, Mitel Networks Corporation, Yahoo! Inc.
Media Makers: AT&T Inc., Campbell Mithun, Complemar Partners Inc., Deluxe Digital Distribution Inc., HBO, Jones Lang LaSalle, KGP Logistics Inc., Mercury Z, NETGEAR Inc., Starry Night Fund, Wiley Rein LLP


The Women’s Media Center was founded by Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan, and Gloria Steinem to make women and girls visible and powerful in the media.  This is accomplished by promoting women as subjects and decision-makers within the media, training women and girls so they are media-ready and media–savvy, monitoring and exposing sexism in the media, and creating innovative new media and original content. The Women’s Media Center is directly engaged with the media at all levels to ensure that a diverse group of women are present in the newsrooms, on air, in print and online, as sources and subjects.

To buy tickets or for more information about The Women’s Media Awards and the ongoing work of The Women’s Media Center, go to: or

For press information or to cover The Women’s Media Awards please contact Natalie Frederick at or (917) 626-1300.


Are you a reporter?  Check out  

If you see something in the news that needs a response, please let us know.