Press Center RSS

Anne Hathaway To Host 2012 Women’s Media Awards

November 1, 2012

Anne Hathaway
to Host The Women’s Media Center
2012 Women’s Media Awards
Honoring Pat Mitchell, Martha Nelson, Lisa Ling, Laura Ling & Sarah Hoye on November 13
in New York City

(New York, New York) - Academy Award Nominated Actress® Anne Hathaway will host The 2012 Women’s Media Awards on November 13th at Guastavino’s in New York City. The announcement was made by Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan and Gloria Steinem, Co-Founders of The Women’s Media Center.

“I am a supporter of the Women’s Media Center,” says Anne Hathaway. “I believe in their ongoing mission and advocacy for women and girls worldwide to be more visible and powerful through a variety of important programs & initiatives.”

Anne Hathaway“Anne embodies the spirit, talent, kindness and authenticity of her own unique talent, and always celebrates the unique talent of other women. I'm so proud that she will be guiding us through this night of serious fun and celebration," says Gloria Steinem, Co-Founder of The Women’s Media Center.

“In addition to Anne Hathaway’s fine acting, her devotion to women's rights, marriage equality, and social-justice activism is remarkable,“ says Robin Morgan, Co-Founder of The Women’s Media Center.

“I have watched Anne use her talent and fame to shine a light on important issues particularly that help and promote women and she continues to make a difference in significant ways,” says Jane Fonda, Co-Founder of The Women’s Media Center.

Anne Hathaway is involved with many charities, including The Creative Coalition, The Step Up Women's Network, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, The Human Rights Campaign, The Girl Effect and The Lollipop Theatre Network. In 2008, she was honored at Elle magazine's "Women in Hollywood" tribute, and has also been honored for her work with Step Up Women's Network and at Variety’s “Power of Women.”

The 2012 Women’s Media Awards will honor:

Pat Mitchell, President & CEO of The Paley Center for Media & Founding Co-Chair of The Women's Media Center, will be presented with the first Women’s Meda Center’s Lifetime Achievement Award, thereafter to be named after her.

Martha Nelson, Editorial Director of Time Inc., will be presented with the Women’s Media Center’s Going The Distance Award.

Lisa Ling, Journalist and Host of Our America With Lisa Ling on OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network, and her sister journalist Laura Ling, Host and Reporter for E! Investigates, a documentary series on the E! Network, will be presented with the Women's Media Center Sisterhood is Powerful Award.

Sarah Hoye, All Platform Journalist for CNN, will receive the Women’s Media Center’s Carol Jenkins Emerging Journalist Award.

The honorees will be presented with their awards at The 2012 Women’s Media Awards on Tuesday, November 13, 2012 at Guastavino’s in New York City with all three Women’s Media Center Co-Founders, Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan & Gloria Steinem in attendance.

The Women’s Media Awards recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to advancing women’s and girls’ visibility and power in media.

About Anne Hathaway
Anne Hathaway is an acclaimed actress. She appeared in the 1999 television series Get Real. She played Mia Thermopolis in The Princess Diaries (2001). Over the next three years, Hathaway reprised that role for The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement, and starred in family films, appearing as the title character in Ella Enchanted, both in 2004. Hathaway is also an Emmy winning actress for her voice-over performance in The Simpsons.

Hathaway was critically acclaimed for her work in dramatic role in Brokeback Mountain, in 2005. She starred in The Devil Wears Prada (2006) and in Becoming Jane (2007) as Jane Austen. In 2008, she was celebrated for her lead role in Rachel Getting Married, for which she won awards and was nominated for the Academy Award® for Best Actress. In 2010, she starred in the box office hits Valentine's Day and Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland, as well as Love and Other Drugs. She recently starred in One Day and The Dark Knight Rises. In 2011, she co-hosted the 83rd Academy Awards.

About The Women’s Media Center
The Women's Media Center works to make women and girls visible and powerful in the media through strategic programs aimed at transforming the media landscape including media training, media monitoring and activism, original media content, media reports, media programs & initiatives.

The Women’s Media Center was founded in 2005 by Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan, and Gloria Steinem.

“The Women’s Media Center exists to change the status of women in media.  Because 51 percent of our population is women and only 3 percent of all clout positions in media are held by women, the Women’s Media Center Awards were created to honor champions for women who use their media platforms to tell the stories, facts, and solutions crucial to all viewers and to advance opportunities for women in media,” says Julie Burton, President of the Women’s Media Center. “Because media tells our stories and influences the role of women in every part of society, we are proud to honor these amazing women who set the standard for what media should look like when it gives voice to the female half of the country.” 

To buy tickets or for more information about The 2012 Women’s Media Awards and the ongoing work of The Women’s Media Center, go to:

For press information or to cover The Women’s Media Awards please contact Carolyn GItomer at JGPR: or (917) 626-1300.