Blog RSS

Bigelow and Crowley Shatter Glass Ceilings

February 1, 2010

[caption id="" align="alignright" width="124" caption="Candy Crowley"]Candy Crowley[/caption] The WMC extends congratulations to two extraordinary women following a double-whammy for women in media: The Hurt Locker director Kathryn Bigelow became the first-ever woman to take the top prize at the Director’s Guild Awards, and political correspondent Candy Crowley was named anchor for CNN’s State of the Union. Crowley, who has been with CNN since 1987, described how she believes State of the Union serves American media: "To me, Sunday morning is a sweet spot – a weekly meeting place to bring the hopes, worries and questions of everyday Americans I talk with along the campaign trail to the people I talk with in the Corridors of Power." Responding to an outpouring of congratulations and emails, Crowley told TVNewser, "This has struck a chord with women I know, and women I don't know." [caption id="" align="alignleft" width="240" caption="Kathryn Bigelow at the DGAs"]Kathryn Bigelow at the DGAs[/caption] Bigelow accepted the Best Director award graciously: “Just to be in the room with all of you is an unimaginable honor...This is the most incredible moment of my life.”  Yet the running commentary on Bigelow’s looks distracted from the honor, highlighted by Andre Soares at Alt Guide:
"Comments abounded on Bigelow’s looks — in other words, on the fact that she’s a woman. Had she been a handsome guy, I wonder how many remarks would have been made about his physical attributes. And how many male directors and presenters would be publicly questioning their sexuality."
Although James Cameron won Best Director for Avatar at this year’s Golden Globes – often seen as a forecast for the Oscars – The Los Angeles Times pointed out that in the last 61 years, only six DGA winners did not repeat at the Oscars. Fingers crossed that another glass ceiling shatters at this year's Academy Awards.
Leslie Linka Glatter for 1 hour drama
Alison Liddi-Brown Children's Programming
Big winners also included Lesli Linka Glatter for 1 hour drama and Alison Liddi-Brown in Children's Programming.